YaoiandYuri = YAY!

Founders of “The-Yaoi-Gallery.net”

Posted on: October 14, 2008

I have a total of 3 interviews with the founders of The Yaoi Gallery: Annatar, Jenn and Diane.

Diane is featured in the the first YaoiandYuri (YAY!) newsletter which can be downloaded [here].

ANNATAR

1) Whose idea was it to start The Yaoi Gallery?
Mine.

I was sick of seeing my stuff and many others summarily executed by Y! Gallery, and then people being banned for so many imaginary offenses. I was determined to start my OWN, with a little help from my friends lol.

I wanted a place with no elitism, few rules, and a great deal of leeway for artists and authors. We welcome and invite artists and authors, from the mainstream Yaoi to the very unique and unusual. We are liberal to the extreme, and pretty much only hardcore and blatant shota isn’t allowed!

2) You have many fandoms and universes at your RPG boards.? Have you encountered any challenges in making sure everyone is getting along on the boards.? What makes your RPGs unique?

Our challenges have been for the most part with players who
have simply not been what they seemed, and the resultant problems that ensued. We are a pretty nice group of people,  we do demand respect for everyone involved, and courtesy is mandatory.

Our RPGs combine Devil May Cry, Advent Children, Angel Sanctuary and a host of OC’s and guest stars ( Kuja, etc) –along with plotlines with sex, violence. love scenes, angst, gender bender and so much more.

We are ever open to new players! Anyone interested may email us for info annataria(at)aol.com.

3) How do you three divide the responsibility of taking care of The Yaoi Gallery?

I do most of the web design and take care of the Sites themselves. I also do 3D art and write a great deal in my favorite fandoms! The other girls recruit and pitch in in various ways, help a great deal with the RPG boards.

4) This question is for each of you: What work brought you into “the world of yaoi?”

For me, it was Final Fantasy Seven and Nine, and Advent Children, and even earlier, Lord Of the Rings. I started out writing massive tomes, and then got into 3 D artwork in
Poser. Lately, I’ve gotten heavily into Devil May Cry and Angel Sanctuary.

My greatest influences have been Emerald Embers on LiveJournal for her magnificent stories of Yazoo and Loz, which helped me in the creation of my own version of Yazoo– and Tyellas for her LOTR/ Silmarillion material, One Ring To Bind Them. Her fair Sauron motivated me instantly, and I fell in love with him.

My favorite characters are Vergil Sparda and Dante Sparda, Yazoo and Kadaj from Advent Children, Kuja from FF9, and Rosiel from Angel Sanctuary —as well as my versions of Sauron and Melkore from LOTR.

5) This question is for each of you: “What do you write or draw? Which is easier for you–visuals or the written word?”

They are honestly equal to me. I have recently started
freehand art again, after years away from it–that is my largest challenge at the moment—but 3D art and writing fiction are about neck and neck loves for me. I wouldn’t say either one is actually easy, though. The muses must flow, and when they DO flow, it’s sweet and smooth. When they don’t, just have to be patient.

6) Please leave any close comments you may have for readers which would encourage them to visit and participate in TYG.

We welcome ALL Yaoi artists and authors, and we are in process of enhancing the format to a more DevArt like format, one that will allow members to have profiles,galleries, journals, and interact with one another as they would on Y! or DevArt, without the constant dropping of submitted art or threats of bans. It takes a very great deal to be banned from TYG —it would have to be something
extraordinary for one of us to ban someone’s pride and joy that they wanted to share through our site!

Once we have the format down, and we expect this to be soon, we will be making the site membership oriented, and this will NOT create any difficulties for the Yaoi devotee—applying and joining will be extremely easy, and Artists and Authors will join alongside the reader/observer of Yaoi, so that all may interact and share with one another.

I advise readers to check back frequently to the site, because we will be getting this going soon!
www.the-yaoi-gallery.net

JENN

1) Whose idea was it to start The Yaoi Gallery?

Anna’s, we were all getting a bit fed up with the restrictions that were being added to any site we were a member of to post our individual works and she had the grand idea to make our own and just go from there.  It was intended as a rival for Y!Gallery, because quite a few people that were there shared our discontent at being so drastically censored, and so far, we’re number two underneath it, and that’s pretty good for having only been up about a year/year and a half.

2) You have many fandoms and universes at your RPG boards.  Have you encountered any challenges in making sure everyone is getting along on the boards.  What makes your RPGs unique?

Unique?  Haha, I’d say that we all have our individual styles and that’s what makes it most unique.  We started with just Final Fantasy VII and FFVII: Advent Children, and from there, it just… exploded.  One board became two, then four, soon enough we were sitting at eight total boards, and while it can be tough sometimes to keep up with them all, we’ve come up with a system that works well for everyone and you’re not stuck all day trying to post and keep up.

The worst challenge we’ve had is making sure that everyone gets along with each other out of character.  In our chat room, we’re very open with one another, and over the past two years that I’ve been a part of this group, we’ve had our trials and tribulations, but in the end, what tried to put us off has only made us stronger and closer.  We’ve had a few problems with what we dubbed ‘The Crazymaking.’  I have nothing against people that come across as brusque or rude, I myself can be a bit caustic at times if something rubs me the wrong way, but when people are intentionally starting drama and purposefully being rude and harsh over things that really don’t warrant such behavior, it just doesn’t fly with the three of us.  Respect is earned, not given, and if someone chooses to not play by the few rules we have, then we try to work with them to get them to see WHY we have them, and if it’s becoming too much, we do the one thing we absolutely hate doing.  Banning.

Other than that, we don’t really have too many problems or challenges.  We’re very accepting, and we like to find any way possible to accommodate people if they really want to play on the boards.  We have a wide range of fandoms and we encourage people to use original characters as well, because the infusion of new characters always brings a fresh, new feel to some of our storylines.  We work hard to find ways to make things work and make sense in the context of the worlds we use for the basis of the stories, ad while sometimes it might take us a while to figure it out, we’ve found a way each time that works well.

3) How do you three divide the responsibility of taking care of The Yaoi
Gallery?

I don’t have much hands on to do with TYG, I’m not the most computer literate person, but I help out as much as I can by recruiting (for the boards and for TYG) and working on the boards, which I’m much more comfortable with, because it’s simpler for me.  Ann is mostly in charge of the site itself, though we all pitch in a hand or two when we get the chance or when she asks us to do something for her.

4) This question is for each of you:  “What work brought you into the world of yaoi?”

Honestly, I can’t even remember what first got me started on it.  I used to not like it at ALL, but I suppose I read something, or watched something that changed my mind and since then, it’s become something of a favorite of mine.  Between Yaoi, Yuri, Het and what we affectionately dubbed ‘Yari’ (Hermaphrodite paired with a male or female– I coined it, and we all nearly fell out of our chairs laughing and decided to USE it), I’d say Yaoi rates first on my list of favorite pairings to write.  I still like the occasional het scene, but yaoi is a lot easier and a little more natural to write, for some reason.

The first time I actually wrote it with someone else– in RP form– was with Ren/Diane– the other part of our three man force.  She introduced me to the Final Fantasy fandom and since then, it’s been a wild ride.  For the longest the main pairing I would write was RenoRude, but now a days, you’ll find me writing anything from RenoRude to RosielKatan from Angel Sanctuary with an interspersing of het pairings that are generally crack-ish and mostly for comic relief.

5) This question is for each of you:  “What do you write or draw?  Which
is easier for you–visuals or the written word?”

Oh, written word most definitely.  At the most, I can draw if I really get an idea for it and stare at a sketch book for a few hours, and sometimes it comes out decent, but words come much more easily for me.  Words can do a justice to an idea that a picture can’t sometimes.  The descriptions, the phrasing and just the mental imagery that you can get when you write something is incredible, there’s no feeling like it, it’s almost indescribable sometimes.  There’s been times when I was writing a post for the board or a fic for TYG and I’ve just LOST myself in it and had to be pried away from it.

Now– WHAT do I write?  A large range of things.  I’ve done a number of fanfics for the site, some that I had done years before joining up and some that I did specifically for TYG, either offshoots from some of the stories on our boards or something that wasn’t a large enough idea to play out, or I was being greedy and wanted to control it all and had to write it myself, haha.

I’ve done original works, some of which I’m still in the midst of working on and trying to edit and I’ve done fanfictions that were requests and some that I thought of on my own.  I’m varied in what I write, sometimes it’s romantic and fluffy, sometimes its hard and fast action, it depends on how I’m feeling or what the muses want.

6) Please leave any closing comments you may have for readers which would
encourage them to visit and participate in TYG.

If you want freedom to post and talk about things that you love with no restrictions, join us!  We’re very open-minded, and it’s very difficult, extremely so, to get banned from TYG.  We encourage you to write and draw and share it with others, whatever it is you have, because you deserve to be able to do that.

Leave a Reply

Thank you for visiting this blog which is part of yaoiandyuri.com (YAY!) which aims to unite yaoi from the east (Japan, Korea and China) with works originating here in the west.

Yaoi from the east can be found in manga/comic, dvd and anime forms. While MxM or slash fiction in the west can be found in e-book and paperback formats.

I hope you enjoy my store and please feel free to make any suggestions and stop by to say 'hi' here.

Links You’ll Love

Elisa Rolle ~ Reviews and Ramblings DragonsDisciple.com
Original Yaoi Fiction and Art
“It began long ago when the nights were darker and the passions ran deeper. When dangerous men measured their lives in hours and days and not years Take a step back in time and see how it all began....”

Buy from Amazon now: SOUL OF THE NIGHT

Samurai-on-Samurai.com Deeper than skin and flesh. Stronger than lust. Venture into the hearts and souls of characters that will leave an impression on your life forever. Experience the Samurai-On-Samurai Yaoi connection.

Buy from Amazon now: GOJOU HAJIME

